Basic Guidance of 12 Houses in Kundali Chart

Comments · 23 Views

I am Vedic Meet. I hold full responsibility for this content, which includes text, images, links, and files. The website administrator and team cannot be held accountable for this content. If there is anything you need to discuss, you can reach out to me via email.

Disclaimer: The domain owner, admin and website staff of Share Folks, had no role in the preparation of this post. Share Folks, does not accept liability for any loss or damages caused by the use of any links, images, texts, files, or products, nor do we endorse any content posted in this website.

In Vedic astrology, a Kundali (or birth chart) is divided into 12 houses called Bhava, each representing different aspects of life.

What are Houses in the Kundali Chart?

In Vedic astrology, a Kundali (or birth chart) is divided into 12 houses called Bhava, each representing different aspects of life. These houses are pivotal in understanding a person's experiences, challenges, and opportunities. 

Here’s a detailed overview of the 12 houses in a kundali and what they signify:

12 Houses Meaning in Kundali Chart 

1st House (Lagna/Ascendant) in Kundali:

  • Significance: Personality, physical appearance, health, self, and overall life path.

  • Associated Aspects: Self-identity, temperament, physical body, early childhood.

2nd House in Kundali:

  • Significance: Wealth, speech, family, and values.

  • Associated Aspects: Material possessions, financial status, speech, immediate family, values.

3rd House in Kundali:

  • Significance: Communication, siblings, courage, and short travels.

  • Associated Aspects: Communication skills, younger siblings, bravery, short journeys, mental intellect.

4th House in Kundali:

  • Significance: Home, mother, comforts, and vehicles.

  • Associated Aspects: Domestic life, real estate, mother, inner peace, education.

5th House in Kundali:

  • Significance: Creativity, children, romance, and intelligence.

  • Associated Aspects: Progeny, creative expression, love affairs, speculative gains, education.

6th House in Kundali:

  • Significance: Health, enemies, debts, and daily work.

  • Associated Aspects: Diseases, competitors, service, daily routines, litigation.

Read Also: Astrology or Numerology: which one predicts accurate or why?

7th  House in Kundali:

  • Significance: Marriage, partnerships, and public relations.

  • Associated Aspects: Spouse, business partnerships, legal contracts, public interactions.

8th House in Kundali:

  • Significance: Longevity, inheritance, and transformation.

  • Associated Aspects: Death, occult sciences, inheritance, sudden events, secrets.

9th House in Kundali:

  • Significance: Fortune, religion, higher education, and long travels.

  • Associated Aspects: Luck, spirituality, philosophy, pilgrimage, law, higher learning.

10th House in Kundali:

  • Significance: Career, reputation, and social status.

  • Associated Aspects: Profession, social standing, fame, achievements, father.

11th House in Kundali:

  • Significance: Gains, social circles, and aspirations.

  • Associated Aspects: Friendships, income from profession, hopes and wishes, elder siblings.

12th House in Kundali:

  • Significance: Expenditure, losses, and spirituality.

  • Associated Aspects: Expenses, losses, foreign travels, isolation, moksha (liberation).

Relating Each Zodiac Sign to Each House:

In Vedic astrology, the natural rulership of houses by zodiac signs provides a foundational understanding. However, when creating an individual’s birth chart, each house is influenced by the zodiac sign that is rising in the Ascendant (Lagna) at the time of birth. 

Here’s a brief on how to relate each house with all zodiac signs:

  1. Determine the Ascendant Sign: The Ascendant (Lagna) determines the starting point. For example, if Aries is the Ascendant, the 1st house will naturally align with Aries, the 2nd house with Taurus, and so on.

  2. Apply Zodiac Traits: Each house will take on the characteristics of the zodiac sign occupying it. For example, if Aries is in the 2nd house, the individual may have an aggressive approach to earning and managing wealth.

  3. Planetary Influence: Consider the ruling planets of the zodiac signs in each house and their placements in the chart. This adds another layer of interpretation.

  4. Aspect and Conjunction: Assess the aspects (drishti) and conjunctions (yuti) of planets to each house for deeper insights into how the zodiac signs influence each house.

Read Also: How To Read Kundali : Easiest Way to Read Kundali

For Example:

If Taurus is the Ascendant (Taurus Lagna):

  • Taurus in 1st House: Adds traits of stability, practicality, and a focus on material comfort to the self.

  • Gemini in 2nd House: Influences wealth and speech with communication skills, adaptability, and intellect.

  • Cancer in 3rd House: Adds emotional depth and a nurturing attitude towards siblings and short travels.

  • Leo in 4th House: Brings creativity, pride, and leadership qualities to the home environment.

  • Virgo in 5th House: Adds analytical skills, practicality, and attention to detail in creativity, children, and romance.

  • Libra in 6th House: Balances daily work, health, and service with a sense of fairness and partnership.

  • Scorpio in 7th House: Intensifies marriage and partnerships with deep emotions, transformation, and intensity.

  • Sagittarius in 8th House: Influences longevity, transformation, and inheritance with optimism, philosophy, and spirituality.

  • Capricorn in 9th House: Adds ambition, discipline, and practicality to higher education, fortune, and long travels.

  • Aquarius in 10th House: Brings innovation, humanitarian interests, and social networking to career and reputation.

  • Pisces in 11th House: Adds spirituality, compassion, and dreaminess to social circles, gains, and aspirations.

  • Aries in 12th House: Influences expenditure, losses, and spirituality with assertiveness, dynamism, and pioneering spirit.


By understanding the significance of each house in a Kundali, one can gain deeper insights into various aspects of life, from personal identity and relationships to career and spirituality.







Read more